MASTERPIECE

gold

Kintsugi (金継ぎ)
Kintsugi (金継ぎ) (Japanese: golden joinery) or Kintsukuroi (金繕い) (Japanese: golden repair) is the Japanese art of repairing broken pottery with lacquer dusted or mixed with powdered gold, silver, or platinum, a method similar to the maki-e technique.

MASTERPIECE
By Penchie Limbo

I am my Maker’s masterpiece,
My Maker’s pride and joy.
He made me as a present
For someone that He cares.

My owner unwrapped my package
Sealed with love and care,
And took me as his prized possession,
The object of his attention.

But the world is full of distractions
Enticing to the eyes.
Lured by the world’s attractions,
Pursued them all with passion.

Thrilled with his latest find,
In a dark and lonely corner,
My owner put me aside.
All alone and broken, I sat there with my pride.

For days and months I go unnoticed
Until dust had settled in.
Once I was a beauty, with carelessness and neglect,
Now shattered and in pieces.

One day may Maker came,
And saw me in the corner.
With full of love and pity,
He picked up all my pieces.

“What did you do with my masterpiece?” He asked.
“I told you to handle it with care!”
My owner just bowed in silence
Consumed with guilt and sorrow.

My master took me away
To put me back together.
With love and care and tenderness,
He glued me in with gold and silver.

Now I am whole again.
With scars of gold and silver,
My badge I wear with pride.
Once again I am His masterpiece,
Restored, whole, not broken.

He made me even stronger, more beautiful, more valuable than before.

I am my Maker’s masterpiece,
Valuable and priceless.
The one worthy to have me
Must have a heart to treasure me.

 

2 thoughts on “MASTERPIECE

Leave a comment